Author Topic: Xbox one controller board repairs  (Read 3132 times)

Offline ModestAdvantage

• Guppy
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
Xbox one controller board repairs
« on: October 08, 2015, 08:13:47 PM »
Hey guys,
I have been doing custom work on Xbox one controllers for a couple years now, and have several boards with various problems. Everything from triggers that are always active to action buttons that dont work and analog sticks that move on their own. I'm far from being an expert with circuitry, so I am stuck here. I'm looking for help repairing these issues so that I can salvage these boards, or someone who would repair them for me or be interested in purchasing them. let me know if anyone has any thoughts on this.

Sean

Offline RDC

• Administrator
  • Around the block
  • Post quality +90/-2
  • The CGnome Project
Re: Xbox one controller board repairs
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2015, 11:59:40 AM »
I wouldn't mind getting a pile of those things that are all jacked up to work on and/or tinker with. Though I have no interest at all in purchasing them for a repair/resale thing here, as I'm only interested in the issues and how to solve them, if they can be.

Triggers that are always on could be a botched Trigger mod that left a solder bridge somewhere, or damaged a trace, or removed a component or even a bad Hall sensor. Given all those things are known to be good, then you're left with an MCU (Micro Controller Unit, the large black IC on the main board) issue and there's really nothing that can be done there without having access to the tools and software that were used to make the things.

Stuck buttons first thing to check is the traces and make sure there are no shorts or weird Resistance values to ground, as that's really about all that could cause that. If they are good then you're back to the MCU being the culprit and can't do much.