Author Topic: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup  (Read 5135 times)

Offline hey101

  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« on: June 10, 2013, 10:57:14 AM »
I am possibly looking for a modder to help me with a project. I saw this guys website and it accomplishes what I want. http://www.hmsprojects.com/xboxbypc.html

I want to use a razer onza tournament edition controller connected to a laptop and then the laptop controlling another controller that goes to the xbox 360. I am doing this so I can add bunches of macros to have some fun with a couple friends in mortal kombat. I am good with programming but I lack the skills in electronic design to make the connection from the laptop to xbox 360 controller. How much would someone charge to handle that for me?

I would love to have complete control over each button on the controller and also the analog sticks. I plan to add a couple extra buttons on the razer onza that can be wired into the laptop somehow to activate the macros. Any suggestions for that side of things?
Hopefully that all makes sense. Just looking for someone to help me out with connections and wiring from the laptop to controller and then maybe some basic code as an example. From there I should be able to figure it out.

Thank you very much.

Offline Rodent

  • XBOX,XBOX360,PS3,WII
  • Administrator
  • Around the block
  • *
  • Posts: 2980
  • Post quality +75/-5
  • Gender: Male
  • MODDER, REPAIR, CUSTOM IDEAS.
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2013, 11:04:53 AM »
« Last Edit: June 10, 2013, 11:06:57 AM by Rodent »

 Tracey: I cant believe Rodent of all people made my damn day
3D0: snacks cartoons and naps  lol sounds like rodents typcial day :rofl:
Rodent consoles mods

Offline Modded Matt

  • Site Owner
  • Administrator
  • Around the block
  • *
  • Posts: 4628
  • Post quality +65/-3
  • Gender: Male
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2013, 11:14:33 AM »
use the chronus X device with the correct mod pack

or

use a Viking macro controller.


either will do what you want it to. going through a third part handling software will take months to write, and once complete and debugged, the xbox one will be out and its useless not to mention the lag that it will entail.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2013, 11:16:34 AM by Modded Matt »

Offline ViSioNXx

  • Global Moderator
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 381
  • Post quality +6/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • PC Guru
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2013, 11:15:43 AM »
Welp. I think Cronus went out but if you can find one it would be similar to what you want.

Offline Modded Matt

  • Site Owner
  • Administrator
  • Around the block
  • *
  • Posts: 4628
  • Post quality +65/-3
  • Gender: Male
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2013, 11:18:54 AM »
what do you mean out?? where is king mike?

Offline ViSioNXx

  • Global Moderator
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 381
  • Post quality +6/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • PC Guru
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2013, 11:32:19 AM »
Looks like the cronus sitte is back up now. Last I had heard Mike was going to be doing his own version/revision but the site that resold them was pulling out. My apologies. I can def vouch for the cronus. Its a pretty mean little device. Also has a lot of hidden uses and features :)

Offline KingMike_OS

  • Shop Owner - Products & Support
  • Acidmods Alumni
  • Acid Modder
  • *
  • Posts: 929
  • Post quality +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • R&D
    • Modding Shop At the end of the Universe
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2013, 12:09:46 PM »
I can get you Cronus X with all Mod packs just email me


the site is Down

Kingmike@acidmods.com

Offline ViSioNXx

  • Global Moderator
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 381
  • Post quality +6/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • PC Guru
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2013, 12:13:48 PM »
It is up at the moment but I would still suggest emailing Mike. Really cool guy to deal with :)

Offline hey101

  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2013, 12:27:54 PM »
I took a look at the Cronus X device. It looks cool to add remapping functionality. Does it support macros and can I add extra buttons on the controller and macro them or what can the mod packs do for a game like mortal kombat?

The idea of being able to have a laptop in the middle also allowed me to use my keyboard to expand the amount of macros I can trigger without having to add a gazillion buttons to the xbox controller. I know it would take forever to code and do things but I would not mind dedicating the time to do so in order for me to learn. I would love to almost meet someone locally and work on the project with them but I don't think that would be possible.

Offline ViSioNXx

  • Global Moderator
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 381
  • Post quality +6/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • PC Guru
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2013, 12:37:33 PM »
I did some reviews on youtube explaining it more. I am not sure about custom button configs. You can pm me for links and mor einfo if needed. Or Mike He would know a little more.

Offline Modded Matt

  • Site Owner
  • Administrator
  • Around the block
  • *
  • Posts: 4628
  • Post quality +65/-3
  • Gender: Male
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2013, 12:44:33 PM »
the chronus device is going to save you money, but as extravagant as you want to get, this is what you want: http://www.viking360.com/modded-xbox-360-controllers/macro-programmable-xbox-360-controller.html

6 extra buttons, macros with all buttons dpad and sticks, macros can be recorded live, or created through the already built software, or a combination of both.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2013, 12:45:05 PM by Modded Matt »

Offline hey101

  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2013, 12:52:07 PM »
Well I'm really looking into the Cronus X device. It definitely looks like it will do what I want and I do like the mods. I think I will look more into going that route than my previous idea of the whole laptop controlling a controller. Thank you very much guys.

I looked into the viking controller and compared it to using the cronus x with a keyboard and mouse. I think with some ideas that I have I may be able to accomplish the same thing as the viking controller but only using the cronus x

Offline Modded Matt

  • Site Owner
  • Administrator
  • Around the block
  • *
  • Posts: 4628
  • Post quality +65/-3
  • Gender: Male
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2013, 01:01:56 PM »
by all means if you can use the cronus X, go for it. They are both great products with similar but slightly different features.

Good luck, let us know how it works out for you.

Offline ViSioNXx

  • Global Moderator
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 381
  • Post quality +6/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • PC Guru
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2013, 01:02:28 PM »
Both routes have pros and cons. It is up to you which way to go.

Agreed with Matt 100%

Offline KingMike_OS

  • Shop Owner - Products & Support
  • Acidmods Alumni
  • Acid Modder
  • *
  • Posts: 929
  • Post quality +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • R&D
    • Modding Shop At the end of the Universe
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #14 on: June 11, 2013, 08:18:11 AM »
Cronus X Don't have any Extra Buttons so there for you can't Assigned any Function to a button at least Not yet 

but there are hidden Features  Like up to 10 Free Button If use a PC and using Keyboard and Mouse,

also can do Macro , and use Record Function.   

In order to do this must First Update FW on Cronus X and Convert Back to the original Device GGP = Game Pad Proxy



than you can do some cool stuff like write your Own scripts and mods , Record Your Combo Save and Fine Tune and so on

Viking 360 Has Nice GUI interface for the Macro and play back so its more user Friendly, Which GPP lacks at this time




 



« Last Edit: June 11, 2013, 08:20:56 AM by KingMike_OS »

Offline ViSioNXx

  • Global Moderator
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 381
  • Post quality +6/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • PC Guru
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #15 on: June 11, 2013, 09:12:30 AM »
I sent Matt a copy of the cronus drivers along with the Gpp and bulls eye apps and stuff. He should be poting those up soon. I love the cronus myself :)

Offline hey101

  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #16 on: June 16, 2013, 10:12:23 AM »
Well I got the Cronus and wrote a tutorial on how to get it to GPP firmware from the latest Cronus firmware since they blocked the reset button to enter programming mode.

Does anyone know how to use the extra buttons with a GPC script?

Offline KingMike_OS

  • Shop Owner - Products & Support
  • Acidmods Alumni
  • Acid Modder
  • *
  • Posts: 929
  • Post quality +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • R&D
    • Modding Shop At the end of the Universe
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #17 on: June 16, 2013, 11:26:01 AM »
if you talking about These




than from Top Left to Right there Identifiers

21-29

21   PS3_ACCX                    WII_ACCX
22   PS3_ACCY                    WII_ACCY
23   PS3_ACCZ                    WII_ACCZ
24   PS3_GYRO
25                                       WII_ACCNX
26                                       WII_ACCNY
27                                       WII_ACCNZ
28                                       WII_IRX
29                                       WII_IRY



Example of a Script I made the First Button to be a Key on keyboard "`" that will Dropshot + Rapidfire When Press  or do the same when D pad  Down is press on the xbox Controller  :

/* *
* GPC SCRIPT
*
*  GPC is a scripting language with C-like syntax.
*  To learn more access GPC Online Help on Help menu.
* *********************************************************** */


define EXTRA_1 = 21;

main {

    if(get_val(EXTRA_1) != 0 || get_val(XB360_DOWN) != 0) {
        combo_run(RapidFire);
        if(event_press(EXTRA_1) || event_press(XB360_DOWN)) {
            combo_run(DropShot);
        }
    }
   
}

combo RapidFire {
    set_val(XB360_RT, 100);
    wait(40);
    set_val(XB360_RT, 0);
    wait(40);
}

combo DropShot {
    set_val(XB360_B, 100);
    wait(1000);
}

« Last Edit: June 16, 2013, 11:28:50 AM by KingMike_OS »

Offline hey101

  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #18 on: June 16, 2013, 11:35:21 AM »
Yes that was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you!

Offline hey101

  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #19 on: June 16, 2013, 01:14:21 PM »
If someone sent you exported bytecode how can we transfer it to the GPP? And is there a way to decompile the bytecode back to rough code?

Offline KingMike_OS

  • Shop Owner - Products & Support
  • Acidmods Alumni
  • Acid Modder
  • *
  • Posts: 929
  • Post quality +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • R&D
    • Modding Shop At the end of the Universe
Re: Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #20 on: June 16, 2013, 05:17:47 PM »
If someone sent you exported bytecode how can we transfer it to the GPP?

You can't the only way to load it we have to host it on the Web Site in order to show up on Cronus CFG Software

its best to ask for the Script so its faster to load it your self and make changes right on GPP software


and no you can't decompile the bytecode back to rough code

Offline hey101

  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Xbox 360 controller and laptop setup
« Reply #21 on: June 16, 2013, 05:29:45 PM »
Gotcha. Well the guy refused to give the script so I set a local web server and redirected the Cronus cfg software to it and fed it the bytecode file the guy game me. It installed well on the GPP and so now I have that as an option. I wish there was a tool though to do it without going through all the above trouble.