Author Topic: AVR-Transistor Tester  (Read 18319 times)

Offline Anonamous

  • The Unknown Identity
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 470
  • Post quality +14/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #60 on: August 01, 2011, 06:18:54 PM »
The latest software is meant to have uart out but when i hooked it up all i got was random symbols

which is exactly what im getting

Offline hyper999

  • Acidmods Alumni
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1151
  • Post quality +543/-3
  • Research and Development
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #61 on: August 01, 2011, 06:25:58 PM »
Yeah i dont think it works but i didnt write the code so i dunno why...

Offline FOOKz™

  • Hardware Modder
  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • E = MC² Mad Scientist
  • *
  • Posts: 2008
  • Post quality +37/-2
  • Analog Electronics Expert =)
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #62 on: August 01, 2011, 08:22:00 PM »
Hyper, I have 2 of your chips you programmed them for me I haven't tried them yet guys I haven't gotten around moving all my test equipment to my new house. If mine doesn't work ether that's a shame, what a waste. I really hope mine will be the working one to see that this project isn't a waste of money for other people who want to make it too.

Follow my Instagram and subscribe to my YouTube

Offline Anonamous

  • The Unknown Identity
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 470
  • Post quality +14/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #63 on: August 02, 2011, 08:07:43 AM »
Hyper, I have 2 of your chips you programmed them for me I haven't tried them yet guys I haven't gotten around moving all my test equipment to my new house. If mine doesn't work ether that's a shame, what a waste. I really hope mine will be the working one to see that this project isn't a waste of money for other people who want to make it too.

it wont be a waste of money, the lcd screen/display function still works (I just dont have mine yet, still waiting for it in the mail) it is just the uart that isnt working properly.

Offline Anonamous

  • The Unknown Identity
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 470
  • Post quality +14/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #64 on: August 10, 2011, 05:30:15 PM »
Well. I got it all together now, all i need is one of those crappy project enclosures now to put it in.

You can read it pretty clear at the very end. The lighting in my room is crappy

Small | Large
« Last Edit: August 10, 2011, 05:32:49 PM by Anonamous »

Offline hyper999

  • Acidmods Alumni
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1151
  • Post quality +543/-3
  • Research and Development
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #65 on: September 21, 2011, 02:36:31 PM »
Heres my final layout

« Last Edit: September 21, 2011, 02:37:26 PM by hyper999 »

Offline Anonamous

  • The Unknown Identity
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 470
  • Post quality +14/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #66 on: September 25, 2011, 09:35:10 AM »
I still havent put mine in a project enclosure yet lol. I kinda like the way it is now. (except that the 9v battery wires keep breaking off)

Offline Kool1zero

  • Code Monkey
  • Registered BST
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Motor Mouth
  • *
  • Posts: 99
  • Post quality +5/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Computer, Electrical, and Network Engineering Stud
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #67 on: September 26, 2011, 05:52:44 AM »
this thing is pretty cool, its kind of a component-meter.
Stolen from f00kz

Offline jmartinbaugh

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #68 on: October 07, 2011, 05:12:25 AM »
Hi

Does anybody know the part number of the 6 Pin IC  shown as IC3 on the later schematics , it seems to replace the power down circuit transistors but I cant find any mention of it anyware.

Offline hyper999

  • Acidmods Alumni
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1151
  • Post quality +543/-3
  • Research and Development
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #69 on: October 07, 2011, 08:35:46 AM »
that is a DIP6 socket used for connecting components to be tested instead

when the transistors are not included it is because the auto off feature has been replace by just a normal switch.

Offline phenoptix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Motor Mouth
  • *
  • Posts: 89
  • Post quality +2/-0
  • Acidmods User
    • Phenoptix
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #70 on: October 12, 2011, 08:06:20 AM »
Got to build one of these. Amazing work. Why have I never ventured into this part of the forums before?!

Offline Anonamous

  • The Unknown Identity
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 470
  • Post quality +14/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #71 on: October 12, 2011, 12:38:21 PM »
Hey guys, for the uart out I just realized that you need to have a Serial to TTL Level converter (Transistor Transistor Logic) [<-- incase you didnt know]

Offline Anonamous

  • The Unknown Identity
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 470
  • Post quality +14/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #72 on: December 08, 2011, 07:19:37 AM »
I am currently making my own through-hole eagle layout for this. Im also going to put smd pads on it of various sizes so that i can remove an smd component from any board and hold it in place with tweezers and test it.

Offline DonRecardo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Post quality +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #73 on: December 30, 2011, 03:03:04 AM »
Hi,
     This is my first post , I only joined yesterday.

Have I miss read it or does Hyper999 actually sell pre programmed ATMEGA8 chips for use in this project and if so how do I go about obtaining some

Don

Offline Anonamous

  • The Unknown Identity
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 470
  • Post quality +14/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #74 on: December 30, 2011, 07:12:34 AM »
Hi,
     This is my first post , I only joined yesterday.

Have I miss read it or does Hyper999 actually sell pre programmed ATMEGA8 chips for use in this project and if so how do I go about obtaining some

Don

Yes, he will sell you a pre-programmed ATMEGA8 chip. Send him a pm about it and he will respond to you. Also, just be aware that they will be coming from the UK.

Offline DonRecardo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Post quality +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #75 on: December 30, 2011, 07:42:10 AM »
Yes, he will sell you a pre-programmed ATMEGA8 chip. Send him a pm about it and he will respond to you. Also, just be aware that they will be coming from the UK.

Thats great news because I am in England myself

I have sent him a PM so hopefully I will get a reply soon

Regards
Don

Offline DonRecardo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Post quality +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #76 on: January 02, 2012, 07:51:45 AM »
Hi
    Does anyopne have Hypers email address
I tried to PM him but am getting no reply .
I often forget to check for private messages and guess he may have done the same
so I thought direct email might get there quicker

Regards

Don

Offline Rodent

  • XBOX,XBOX360,PS3,WII
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+46)
  • Around the block
  • *
  • Posts: 2755
  • Post quality +72/-5
  • Gender: Male
  • MODDER, REPAIR, CUSTOM IDEAS.
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #77 on: January 02, 2012, 12:49:26 PM »
Give him time with the holidays he might be away... he always reploes   :tup:

 Tracey: I cant believe Rodent of all people made my damn day
3D0: snacks cartoons and naps  lol sounds like rodents typcial day :rofl:
Rodent consoles mods

Offline DonRecardo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Post quality +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #78 on: January 02, 2012, 02:25:00 PM »
OK Thanks

Don

Offline Kasamiko

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Post quality +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #79 on: February 07, 2012, 10:55:09 PM »
The latest software is meant to have uart out but when i hooked it up all i got was random symbols


It's an LCD initialization problem with some LCD controllers, I encountered on some batch of LCD's.


The LCD was not initialized properly at power on..here's the part of the code responsible for this function found in lcd-routines.c of the source code.


original code:

Quote
void lcd_init(void)
{
   LCD_DDR = LCD_DDR | 0x0F | (1<<LCD_RS) | (1<<LCD_EN1);   // Port auf Ausgang schalten
   // muss 3mal hintereinander gesendet werden zur Initialisierung
   _delay_ms(30);
   LCD_PORT = (LCD_PORT & 0xF0 & ~(1<<LCD_RS)) | 0x03;
   lcd_enable();


modify to this:

Quote
void lcd_init(void)
{
   LCD_DDR = LCD_DDR | 0x0F | (1<<LCD_RS) | (1<<LCD_EN1);   // Port auf Ausgang schalten
   // muss 3mal hintereinander gesendet werden zur Initialisierung
   _delay_ms(120);
   LCD_PORT = (LCD_PORT & 0xF0 & ~(1<<LCD_RS)) | 0x03;
   lcd_enable();



Now my problem is the new source code wont compile, whether edited or not...simply got some uart.c error...

Quote
lcd-routines.c:115: undefined reference to `uart_putc'


I don't know how to fix this..


BTW here are some picture of my built..









BR


« Last Edit: February 07, 2012, 10:57:46 PM by Kasamiko »

Offline DonRecardo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Guppy
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Post quality +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: AVR-Transistor Tester
« Reply #80 on: February 08, 2012, 01:29:46 PM »
I finaly got mine finished off and working

I designed  a small  double sided PCB for it in Kicad and got 10 made up
by Seeed studio for less than $10, Its not worth etching your own at that price .

When I first tested the unit it worked fine for diodes, transistors leds and mosfets etc
but was reading high on capacitors , when I say high it was a serious ammount high
, like 60% too much . A 10uF cap would read 16uF. Then on  www.mikrocontroller.net
I saw a post that gave the answer . It was not easy because the forum is in German
and I only speak English , but it seems you need to change two numbers in the source
file and re compile it 
it was here
  */
//  unsigned int H_CAPACITY_FACTOR EEMEM = 394;     //  Standardwerte für M8
//  unsigned int L_CAPACITY_FACTOR EEMEM = 283;     //  Standardwerte für M8
    unsigned int H_CAPACITY_FACTOR EEMEM = 262;     //  Standardwerte für M8A
    unsigned int L_CAPACITY_FACTOR EEMEM = 177;     //  Standardwerte für M8A


I had originally used the two top numbers  394 and 283
I changed them to  262 and  177 and now it works fine

Capacitors now read within there rated tolerance from 100nF to 2200uF

I put the usual 3 holes to insert components and also added three spring loaded
terminals for bigger items like TO 220

I would show you a picture of it but cant see how to add one

Don