Author Topic: Robotic Arm Help  (Read 2704 times)

Offline Sammy

• BST BAN
  • Granny Spanker
  • Post quality +15/-1
Robotic Arm Help
« on: January 23, 2012, 07:59:04 PM »
Okay so me and my friend Decided, since I'm Very good with electronics, and hes very smart (Hes got like an A+ in every single class, this kids a genious) We decided we are going to team up and build some kind of robotic arm (yes i realize this is going to take quiet alot of time and money! im prepared!), But I'm like a super noob when it comes to this kind of stuff, and programming and all that, so I've got a few questions,

1. If i make my own little PIC programmer, Would i use like a  PIC to program like Movements in to this? Like i press a button, it turns and squeeses it clamp or whatever, would that be right for this kinda thing? (Remember im a total noob so dont make fun of me ifim way off please!)

2. Would it be possible to make some kind of command promt thing for it? like i plug in a keyboard, and type a command like grab, it would grab?

3. Do you guys know any sites that would have som kind of kit to make this? i was going to just find some scrap metal and like make some joints for somthin lol.

Thanks, Any help is Appreciated!!
« Last Edit: January 23, 2012, 08:00:18 PM by Sammy »

Toad: Sam, You sound like your stoned out of your mind lol
Me: :D

Offline Hazer

• x4675636B4E7574
  • Acidmods Alumni
  • Acid Modder
  • Post quality +59/-0
Re: Robotic Arm Help
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2012, 09:01:11 PM »
There are a couple of ways to answer this:

A good way to start is using hobby servo motors. You can find alot of good beginners info here:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_tutorial.shtml

This will give you not only starter info, but what it eventually leads to for advanced design.